The 1st under graduate convention of IAOMR was held at SAIMS, Indore on 5th November, 2017. A number of undergraduate students from 3rd year BDS, 4th year and Interns participated in poster and paper presentations. The total number of registrations from PCDS&RC was 85.

9 posters and 7 papers were presented on various topics of Oral Medicine and Radiology. There were 3 winners, 2 in paper presentation category, and 1 in the poster presentation.

Joshua Thomas, Jyotirmay Chakravarthy (Interns) got best paper awards and Darshika Taran, Pooja Nayak (3rd BDS) got best poster award.

The faculty of Oral Medicine & Radiology registered for the conference and actively took part in the scientific sessions, encouraging the students.

Dr Preeti Nair, Prof. & Head, Department of Oral Medicine & Radiology, PCDS&RC, headed the Scientific Committee of the event. Dr Karthik Hegde, Prof. was in the committee for gifts & memento, Dr Annette Bhambal, Reader, was in the hospitality committee, Dr Neha Gupta, Senior Lecturer, was in the registration committee. All of them played an active role towards motivating students.

Dr. Neha Gupta chaired a session on paper presentation.

This highlight of this event was the presence of stalwarts of this specialty namely Dr. Gnanasundaram and Dr. Umarji, who hail from Chennai and Mumbai respectively. Their talks and interactions were a unique experience to the undergraduates. No other specialty of Dentistry has a UG convention and sensitization program, and hence such a conference in Madhya Pradesh was a singular program of its kind.

Indeed the faculty and students came back enriched by this experience.



2nd phase (Instructor course) of BLS-ACLS course @ PCDS & RC


Peoples’s College of Dental Sciences & Research Centre, Bhopal in collaboration with Indian Institute of Emergency Medicine conducted the 2nd phase (Instructor course) of BLS-ACLS course (basic life support, advanced cardiac life support)  on 31 October and 1st November 2017 .

Successful candidates who underwent the ACLS programme were selected to attend this instructor course wherein successful candidates would become instructors for the AHA(American Heart Association).

Nine candidates were selected from Bhopal from various institutes such as AIIMS Bhopal, Chirayu Medical College, LN Medical College and People’s College of Dental Sciences. Of the candidates selected, Dr Shaji Thomas,Dean PCDS was the only dental graduate whereas others were critical care specialists, physicians and anesthetist.